How to Erase iPhone or Android Phone In a Few Easy Steps

/How to Erase iPhone or Android Phone In a Few Easy Steps

How to Erase iPhone or Android Phone In a Few Easy Steps

So you want that new Samsung Galaxy S9 or iPhone X, but you still have your old phone! It makes sense to sell it for some extra cash, but before trading in your phone you will need to Erase iPhone or Android Phone. Before you get ahead of yourself, make sure that all of your top secret messages and embarrassing selfies are deleted! Here’s a guide on how to do it:

How to Erase iPhone

For iPhone owners, you have a few steps to clear out all your junk. Firstly, you will need to unpair your Apple Watch to avoid any issues when your new iPhone arrives on your doorstep. Then, you will need to backup your phone so that everything can be synced back up and running again.

It’s now time to destroy all of the data on your old phone! First thing to do is Turn off Find My iPhone.

Turn off Find My phone

Then you should sign out of iCloud, all you have to do is go into settings, tap your name, scroll down to the bottom and hit sign out. After you enter your apple ID and password, you’re done! This step is really important to do before you Erase iPhone. If you forget you can remotely turn off Find My Phone and remove your iCloud account by signing into iCloud.com

sign out iCloud account

To clear all of your data, go into settings, scroll down to reset, and select ‘erase all content and settings’

Erase iPhone

Also, if you’re switching to an android phone, make sure you turn off iMessage. That way, you won’t miss any incoming messages on your new phone.

 

How to Erase Android Phones

Things are a little different on Android, but you can still back up everything and get it cleared pretty easily.

If your new phone is an android phone, sync all of your apps to your account. Do this by going into users and accounts under settings, and selecting to sync.

Before resetting make sure to Turn off Find My Phone, Google Factory Reset Protection or Samsung Factory Reset Protection. All manufacturers offer a similar version of this. You may have turned this on when initially setting up the phone and forgotten about it so now is the time to turn it off before resetting and selling your phone. If you forgot to turn it off before resetting the phone, you can still turn it off by going through the first few screens of setup and putting in your Google email and password. Then choose to NOT restore your device and set it up as new.

Google Factory Reset protection    sign out Samsung account

After you’ve done that, back everything up. You can do this in settings, select system, and then select backup. This will ensure that all of your data is safe, and ready for your new phone!

backup-samsung-contacts-gmail back up your phone

Now that everything is safe, it’s time to wipe the phone clear of your data. You can do this by going to settings, system, then selecting factory data reset to restart the phone.

factory-reset-hard-reset

All done! Now you’re ready to sell your old phone, luckily for you, Techpayout is an incredible place to sell your phone for a great price! Get in touch today to see what we can offer.

By | 2018-04-08T15:04:09+00:00 April 8th, 2018|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment